Betfred Cup Fixtures Announced

13288097_1188573947843637_1809501490_oFixtures for the group stage of the 2016/17 Betfred Cup have now been confirmed, with 80 matches taking place between July 15 and 31.

Competition broadcaster BT Sport have announced five live TV selections and will make their choice for matchday five (July 30/31) in due course.

Rovers start their campaign at home versus Morton FC on Saturday 16th July and finish off away from home versus Kilmarnock FC on Saturday 30 July. Other two dates for your diary are Tuesday 19th July v Berwick Rangers away and Tuesday 26th July v Clyde at home. Full Group H draw is here –

Group H

Saturday 16 July
Albion Rovers v Morton, 3.00pm
Clyde v Kilmarnock, 3.00pm

Tuesday 19 July
Berwick Rangers v Albion Rovers, 7.45pm
Morton v Clyde, 7.45pm

Saturday 23 July 
Clyde v Berwick Rangers, 3.00pm
Kilmarnock v Morton, 3.00pm

Tuesday 26 July 
Albion Rovers v Clyde, 7.45pm
Berwick Rangers v Kilmarnock, 7.45pm

Saturday 30 July 
Kilmarnock v Albion Rovers, 3.00pm
Morton v Berwick Rangers, 3.00pm

The fixtures for the Betfred Cup Group Stage follow a design from UEFA used previously for the UEFA Cup. Each Club will play one game at home and the other away against the two clubs drawn immediately below it in the group. Club 1 plays Club 2 at home and Club 3 away; Club 2 plays Club 3 at home and Club 4 away and so on. This is criteria is circular so that the Clubs “immediately below” Club 5 are Club 1 and Club 2 in that order. This mechanism will ensure that each Club will play four games in the Group (two at home and two away).

The actual schedule of the matches will consider live broadcast selections, avoiding geographical clashes (e.g. Dundee and Dundee United will not be at home on the same day) and other constraints we are aware of. However, it will not alter which club plays which other club home or away – that is already set by the Group Draw.

The group stage uses the traditional three points for a win and one point for a draw model but drawn matches will go straight to a penalty shoot-out. The winner of the shoot-out will be awarded a bonus point. The eight group winners and four best runners-up progress to the second round, where they are joined by the four UEFA qualifying clubs, and the competition reverts to a knock-out format.

Dates for future rounds  
Second round – Tuesday/Wednesday 9/10 August
Quarter-finals – Tuesday/Wednesday 20/21 September
Semi-finals – Saturday/Sunday 22/23 October
Final – Sunday 27 November