2016/17 League Season

SPFLThe SPFL has today confirmed the date for the commencement of league competitions at the start of the 2016/17 Scottish football season.

All four SPFL leagues – the Ladbrokes Premiership, Ladbrokes Championship, Ladbrokes League 1 and Ladbrokes League 2 – will kick off on the weekend of Saturday, 6 August, 2016.

The 2016/17 league season start will follow the group stages of the new format of the Scottish League Cup when eight groups of five teams will play each other once each in a round-robin format across five July dates (16th, 20th, 23th, 27th & 30th), subject to TV selections. This new 80-game group stage will involve all 38 teams not involved in UEFA qualifiers plus winners of this season’s Highland League and Lowland League.

SPFL season 2016/17 will also see the reintroduction of a winter break – for the Ladbrokes Premiership only – with the 12 top flight clubs enjoying a three-week break from league games, equating to two full weekends without SPFL matches, in January 2017.

The full fixture lists for the 2016/17 SPFL league season are expected to be announced in June.